Chocolate Pudding for my sweetie!!!

My last post was Betsy’s Birthday Cake…the Chocolate Covered Strawberry Cake which called for 5 egg whites. I needed to use the egg yolks for something…waste not want not…right? So, I  went searching for a recipe that would use up my egg yolks. I found mayonnaise, souffle, egg yolk omelete…etc. But I decided that chocolate pudding would be the best, since I could fill the cake with it. And I’ve never made homemade pudding before. So here goes…

Again, I used a Betty Crocker recipe, page 210 in the newest cookbook (I just bought for my 12-year old daughter) and increased it slightly to use all the yolks. It made 6 martini glass servings, but should have made 8 regular servings.

  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup + 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
  • 5 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 cups milk
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons vanilla

In large saucepan, mix sugar, cornstarch, cocoa and salt. Make sure there aren’t any lumps…use a whisk to get them out. Gradually stir in milk. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens and boils. This took FOREVER!!! Boil and stir for 1 minute.

Gradually and carefully stir at least half of the hot mixture into the egg yolks, then stir back into hot mixture in saucepan. Boil and stir 1 minute; remove from heat. Stir in vanilla. Make sure you stir this really well…I ended up with little pieces of cooked egg yolk in the pudding… oh well!

Pour pudding into dessert dishes. I didn’t have/couldn’t find my Waterford dessert dishes so I used martini glasses, cause I have lots of those! Cover and refrigerate about 1 hour or until chilled. Store covered in refrigerator.

I used this to fill the layers of my cake and I ate some too! It is really GOOD!! Just ignore the cooked egg pieces.

