It’s another cold snap in Florida, a perfect time for some yummy, hot soup! I wanted to try a black bean soup, but I only had red beans and pinto beans…so I improvised. I added pretty much everything I had in the refrigerator and pantry. Just trying to do my part for the environment and my bank account! I didn’t have a recipe to go by, so I just started throwing stuff in the pot, and this is what I ended up with.

  • 1 bag of red beans
  • 1 bag of pinto beans
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parlsey
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • Olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped broccoli
  • 1 cup chopped cauliflower
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp tumeric
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp dried rosemary, crushed

Place the two bags of beans into a large stock pot with about 10-12 cups of water. Heat to boiling and boil for 4 minutes. Cover and simmer for 1 hour. Drain and rinse beans.

Coat bottom of stock pot with olive oil and add onion, pepper flakes, garlic, parsley, celery and carrots. Saute until soft.

Add beans, 10 cups water and the remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Reduce to simmer allow to thicken for an hour or three, stirring occasionally.

Once your ready to eat, ladle into bowl and top with a little parmesan cheese and serve with crackers.

So I have to say it was a tad bland, so I kicked it up a little with a tad bit of salsa! This made it perfect!

Try it and let me know how it turns out for you!

