This is the thick version! Yummy!

****For this post the black is the regular recipe, the red is for my comments, and the blue is the crock pot comments.

So as you can see by my last post, it’s FREEZING in FLA!!! And what’s better on a cold day than hot soup! I decided to make my special vegetarian chili…the problem…I had to be out of the house for the day and wouldn’t be able to watch the pot simmer like usual. So I decided to use my much neglected crock pot. Now I’ve never made chili in the crock pot, so I was hoping that it would work. But what’s not to work? It’s chili! Well here’s my recipe…

  • 1 64 oz bottle of V8 juice
  • 1 30-ish oz can black beans
  • 1 30-ish oz can chili beans
  • 1 30-ish oz can kidney beans
  • 2 stems fresh Rosemary, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon oregano

Toppings

  • Sour Cream
  • Shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • Onions, green, red or Vidalia chopped
  • Oyster crackers

NOTE: My family is half vegetarian (don’t eat meat) and half meatetarian (don’t eat veggies). So I can’t put in meat or vegetables…until after I divide it. Then I add… ground beef seasoned with garlic and oregano to the meatetarian chili, and any and all veggies to the vegetarian chili.

In a large pot I combine all the ingredients and bring to a simmer. That’s it! Just let it simmer all day! The longer the better! After a few hours I will divide it into two pans and add meat/veggies and allow that to simmer a little while longer. The chili becomes thick and aromatic.

So I combined all the ingredients in the crock pot instead of the pot and plopped the lid on and let it cook on high for most of the day. Unfortunately, I wasn’t home so I couldn’t check it. When I did get home I was surprised that it didn’t thicken up! DUH!!! The lid was on and therefore there was no evaporation. It was a little runny, but very flavorful! I wonder if I leave the lid off if it would have thickened? I’ll have to try that next time!


Now, do me a fave…click on the picture below and vote for my blog! It’s painless and I will be eternally grateful!!! REALLY!!!!

