My Red Velvet Cupcakes
My Red Velvet Cupcakes

My husband LOVES red velvet cake, but, I’ve always heard it was really hard to make. I don’t do hard recipes…yeah, Martha Stewart and I don’t see eye to eye on this point. She likes to make things more difficult than they have to be, and, well…I don’t. In fact, I find that easier=better.  But I saw this recipe and it didn’t really look that hard, so I thought I would try it out and see if little old me could handle it! I mean Paula wouldn’t lead me astray…would she?

Recipe By: Paula Deen
Yields: 24 cupcakes (see note)

Cupcake Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa powder That’s it…only 1 teaspoon of cocoa…I thought it was more chocolatey
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil Wow…that’s A LOT of oil!!!
  • 1 cup buttermilk, room temperature
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons red food coloring Isn’t red food coloring suppose to be bad for you? Huh this took an entire bottle
  • 1 teaspoon white distilled vinegar Really? Vinegar in cake? You’re kidding right?
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Cream Cheese Frosting Ingredients:

  • 1 pound cream cheese, softened
  • 2 sticks butter, softened OMG…talk about bad for you…uggghhhhh…it better be good!
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
  • Chopped pecans and fresh raspberries or strawberries (or chocolate decorations!), for garnish

Directions:

Cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2 (12-cup) muffin pans with cupcake papers.

In a medium mixing bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder. In a large bowl gently beat together the oil, buttermilk, eggs, food coloring, vinegar, and vanilla with a handheld electric mixer. Add the sifted dry ingredients to the wet and mix until smooth and thoroughly combined.

Divide the batter evenly among the cupcake tins about 2/3 filled. Bake in oven for about 20 to 22 minutes, turning the pans once, half way through. Test the cupcakes with a toothpick for doneness. Remove from oven and cool completely before frosting. So I tend to fill my cupcake cups a little more than 2/3 full, which results in pointy, lopsided cupcakes. Learn from me…just fill 2/3 full!!!!

Cream Cheese Frosting: In a large mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, butter and vanilla together until smooth. Add the sugar and on low speed, beat until incorporated. Increase the speed to high and mix until very light and fluffy. Frost the cupcakes with a butter knife or pipe it on with a big star tip (I used star tip 1M.) Garnish with chopped pecans and a fresh raspberry or strawberry (or chocolate decorations). I had a blast decorating them! Did you see the pictures!?!?! I mean how cute are they?

So, after making these I decided that they really are easy and very doable! I thought they were delish…but DON’T OVERCOOK!! I baked one pan a little too long and they were a little dry!!! They were rather oily. I might reduce this next time.

Now get baking and let me know what you think!!!

