gazpacho Recipe from The Food Network – 1999 Barefoot Contessa Show

Ingredients

nocoupons

  • 1 hothouse cucumber, halved and seeded, but not peeled I used a good old fashioned cucumber peeled  and chopped but not seeded
  • 2 red bell peppers, cored and seeded I used the mini peppers, yellow, red and orange
  • 4 plum tomatoes
  • 1 red onion This is a lot of onion!!! But I love onion, so I’m good with it!
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced I cut this back to 1-2 cloves and I use the jarred kind.
  • 23 ounces tomato juice (3 cups) Totally forgot to put this in! Ooops!
  • 1/4 cup white wine vinegar Can’t remember if I put this in or not…hmmm…wing it!
  • 1/4 cup good olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
  • Lime Juice of 2 limes
  • Celery, diced
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1-2 Tbsp fresh chopped cilantro
  • 1-2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • Garnish with Celery, Cucumber Slice and Cilantro (OK I used basil, cause I didn’t have any cilantro left).

Directions

Roughly chop the cucumbers, bell peppers, tomatoes, and red onions into 1-inch cubes. Put each vegetable separately into a food processor fitted with a steel blade and pulse until it is coarsely chopped. Do not overprocess! OK I didn’t use the food processor, I just got my chop on!  It was fun!

After each vegetable is processed, combine them in a large bowl and add the garlic, tomato juice, vinegar, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Mix well and chill before serving. The longer gazpacho sits, the more the flavors develop. So my soup is a little chunky, but I lik it that way. You can put half of it into the blender, or Magic Bullet and process until smooth. Add that back into the other half and you’ll have a perfect mix of chunky and smooth.

