I was looking for something entirely different from what I usually make, which is chicken marinated in Italian dressing and saffron rice…snoresville! I found this in my fave magazine…The Food Network Magazine and was instantly intrigued! I love Caribbean food and the mango salsa just screamed  my name!!! And boy am I glad it did! This was really good! At least mine was ! The kids said it was good but a little “dark”… code for burnt…for them. Oh well, my fish was perfect! Maybe they can make it themselves next time! HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! NEVER!

Recipe courtesy of Jay Brooks for Food Network Magazine

  • Prep Time:40 min
  • Cook Time:24 min
  • Level:Easy
  • This is what mine looked like!
    This is what mine looked like!

    Ingredients

    For the Salsa:

    • 1 ripe mango, diced
    • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced My grocery store was out of jalapenos, so we went without…still AWESOME!
    • 1 small red onion, chopped Ummm…I don’t know how small they are talking, but I used maybe 1/4 of an onion which was about 1/2 cup and it was plenty!
    • Juice of 1 lime Stop….zest this lime first…then use the juice. You need the zest later!!!
    • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro, plus more for garnish
    • Kosher salt
    • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

    For the Fish:

    • 1 cup instant mashed potatoes
    • Finely grated zest of 1 lime Wish I had read ahead and used the lime peel of the lime from the salsa. But I had already tossed it!
    • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
    • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
    • 2 large eggs
    • 1 cup all-purpose flour
    • 4 6-ounce skinless striped bass fillets We  used salmon since I had some in the freezer. We also used chicken as some of my beloved family doesn’t like fish.  See notes below!
    • Vegetable oil, for frying Next time I would skip this and just bake/broil it!

    Directions

    Make the salsa: Mix the mango, jalapeno, onion, lime juice, cilantro and 1 teaspoon salt in a bowl; fold in the olive oil. Prepare the fish: Mix the instant potatoes, lime zest, cayenne, 2 teaspoons salt and 1/2 teaspoon black pepper in a shallow dish. Beat the eggs in another dish. Season the flour with salt and black pepper in a third dish. Dredge each fish fillet in the seasoned flour, dip in the eggs, then coat completely with the potato mixture. This salsa was FANTASTIC!!!  I would make it again for sure!!!

    Place a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add about 1/2 inch of vegetable oil. When the oil is hot, place the fish curved-side down in the pan; cook until golden brown and crisp, 3 to 4 minutes. Turn and cook until golden on the other side, about 3 more minutes. Top with the salsa and more cilantro.

    NOTE: So I would not fry the fish or chicken. Next time I make it I will bake or broil it. You see I have a hard time frying anything without setting off the smoke alarm. So no more frying for me! The batter was really good, but the kids complained that it was a little darker…code word for burnt…than they like. My fish was perfect! I had TONS of left over batter. Seems like a waste. Next time I would cut it probably in half!

    I will make again and let you know how it comes out! But it was AMAZINGLY GOOD!!!!

    Photograph by Tina Rupp and Kim Brooks

