ND3_1048So, my 15 years minus 5 days old son and I, 44 year old training for a marathon, are working out 3 days a week at the gym trying to buff him up and tone me up. Neither of us like to eat breakfast, so I have been trying to find a good protein bar recipe that will give us all we need in terms of protein and carbs and yet be tolerable for those of us that don’t like to eat before the sun comes up. I have searched and searched the inter-webs and found TONS that sound good. But I chose the Strawberry Banana recipe from liftforlife.com. Sounds tolerable, what with banana and strawberries and fairly simple to make. Let’s give it a try!

STRAWBERRY & BANANA MEAL REPLACEMENT BARS

Makes 6 bars
1 cup raw oatmeal
5 scoops of strawberry protein powder ( 90g of protein) I used vanilla and added fresh strawberries
1/4 cup fat free cream cheese I used full fat whipped…its what I had
1/2 cup non fat dry milk powder
2 egg whites
1/4 cup water
1 1/2 bananas, mashed Dropped the half since I added strawberries
2 tsp. canola oil (this is the secret to moist bars instead of the traditional dry bar)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Spray a 9×9 square pan with cooking spray & set aside. In a medium bowl combine oatmeal, Protein powder & dry milk. Set aside. In another bowl beat together with an electric hand mixer, cream cheese, egg whites, bananas, water & oil. Add the oat mixture & continue to beat until the two are combined. Pour batter into the prepared pan & bake for 30-35 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
Calories-203, Protein 22g, Carbs 22g, Fats 3g

So as they were cooking they looked so yummy, I couldn’t wait to try them! I had taken sliced strawberries and put them on top so they looked even prettier! Once they were cooled I sliced them and decided to try a little sliver. OMG…they were HORRIBLE!!! Dry and very eggy, with no flavor to speak of except that chalky protein powder taste. UGHGHGHGH!I even tried to put some honey on top to sweeten it up a bit…NOPE…still HORRIBLE!

Lesson…don’t try a recipe from a muscle head website, because they obviously don’t care about flavor. Their taste buds and stomachs must really be made of steel!

