kimberbro

Betsy’s Birthday “Silver White Cake” By Betty Crocker

In Betty Crocker, Recipes on January 29, 2010 at 12:57 pm

My sister-in-law, Betsy is turning…ummm… yeah never mind the actual number…let’s just say her birthday is today. We usually celebrate her birthday on Super Bowl Sunday, but I decided to make her day really special and take her a cake. She’s not a big chocolate lover, unlike her brother, so I decided that a white cake would be the flavor of choice. I remember making a couple of the cake recipes in the Betty Crocker Cookbook, (the one I received from my mother on my wedding day, almost 20 years ago) and they were delicious! So I thought I would go retro and try the Silver White Cake on page 72 of the 40th Anniversary Edition. So here goes!

Betty Crocker’s Silver White Cake

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour*
  • 1 2/3 cups sugar
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 2/3 cup shortening
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla or almond extract I used vanilla
  • 5 egg whites Now I have to find something to do with the egg yolks…hmmm chocolate pudding I think

So, the question I have, is to sift or not to sift. Will this make my cake fluffier? Or is it just a wasted step? I don’t know! So I thought I would do a little research…according to the three websites I visited, the consensus is… to sift if the recipe calls for sifting. If not just whisk the flour before measuring to remove lumps. Ideally measuring the flour by weight is the most accurate, but that means you have to buy and store a scale…UGHH!!! So for this recipe I whisked the flour before measuring (by cup not scale) and not sift.

  1. Heat oven to 350. Grease and flour rectangular pan, 13x9x2, 2 round pans, 9×1 1/2 inches, or 3 round pans, 8×1 1/2 inches.
  2. Beat all ingredients except egg whites in large bowl on low speed 30 seconds, scraping bowl constantly.
  3. Beat on high speed 2 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally.
  4. Beat in egg whites on high speed 2 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally.
  5. Pour into pan (s).
  6. Bake rectangle 40-45 minutes, 9 inch rounds 30-35 minutes, 8 inch rounds 23-28 minutes or until wooden toothpick inserted in center comes out clean or until cake springs back when touched lightly in center.
  7. Cool rectangle on wire rack. Cool layers 10 minutes; remove from pans and cool completely on wire rack.
  8. Frost cake…

*Do not use self-rising flour in this recipe

I used three 4 inch cake pans and a pan for mini shaped cakes, so I baked them for 25 minutes.

Also makes 2 dozen cupcakes – fill paper lined pans 1/2 full & bake 20 min.  Enjoy!

It turned out pretty good! Not as fluffy as I had hoped but it was a good cake!

For Betsy’s cake…I decided to do a Chocolate Covered Strawberry Cake. So I layered the three 4″ cakes and filled it with chocolate pudding (which I made from scratch using the leftover egg yolks…yay me!) between the bottom layers and strawberry preserves (store bought…not homemade) between the top. I used the good old stand-by Buttercream Icing from our cake decorating class and topped it with chocolate covered strawberries. It looked delish! I did not get a pic! Sorry! But I do have the other little cakes that I made and decorated just for fun.

  1. I love this cookbook! I’ve seen other cupcake books that have a few good decorating ideas mixed in with mediocre ones, or that have a lot of cute ideas but don’t offer new flavors beyond the basic vanilla, yellow, or chocolate cake mixes. This one is abundant in both inspiration for decorating and a variety of flavors.

    Just about every recipe is…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

